Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2006-11-17

Success, Sadness, and Gratitude

"As long as a man stands in his own way, everything seems to be in his way." -- Ralph Waldo Emerson

I've lost another 6 pounds in the last few weeks. It feels so good to overcome plateaus and be re-inspired! Overall official tally so far -- 83.5. WOW, I was fat. Still am, just not as much. Actually, I'm starting to think I look pretty hot. Still have a ways to go, but I am healthy, I am fit, and I am getting there. The journey is far from boring.

Speaking of the journey, my new favorite food as of this week is the egg salad sandwich. But, since I HATE mayonnaise, I crush up my hardboiled egg and add kalamata olive hummus as a binder. Then I put it on this wheat bread I have that's 40 calories a slice and voila! Awesome, Mediterranean-ish meal.

Speaking of meals, tonight I'm going out to dine and wine and splurge a bit on some tasty food with a few friends! Mmm, mmm good. My love is up north, busy learning new tricks for his photo stuff, and I am keeping busy down here.

Yesterday afternoon, it wasn't actually Mama's Kitchen I was helping my father with, it was a similar program known as "Special Delivery," and we delivered a car-full of food to people with AIDS who have difficulty fending for themselves for various reasons.

It was quite sobering, to be driving through certain neighborhoods, to be greeted by someone, so sick and weak at the door, but so happy to see you, so appreciative for the help you are giving. It broke my heart to see such happiness from what, on our part, seemed such a simple and easy gesture.

I spent the rest of the evening home alone, pondering my lot in life. As I lay in bed, waiting for sleep to take me, I caught myself repeating the same two words in my head over and over and over: thank you, thank you, thank you.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Success, Sadness, and Gratitude 2006-11-17 10:25 a.m. "As long as a man stands in his own way, everything seems to be in his way." -- Ralph Waldo Emerson

I've lost another 6 pounds in the last few weeks. It feels so good to overcome plateaus and be re-inspired! Overall official tally so far -- 83.5. WOW, I was fat. Still am, just not as much. Actually, I'm starting to think I look pretty hot. Still have a ways to go, but I am healthy, I am fit, and I am getting there. The journey is far from boring.

Speaking of the journey, my new favorite food as of this week is the egg salad sandwich. But, since I HATE mayonnaise, I crush up my hardboiled egg and add kalamata olive hummus as a binder. Then I put it on this wheat bread I have that's 40 calories a slice and voila! Awesome, Mediterranean-ish meal.

Speaking of meals, tonight I'm going out to dine and wine and splurge a bit on some tasty food with a few friends! Mmm, mmm good. My love is up north, busy learning new tricks for his photo stuff, and I am keeping busy down here.

Yesterday afternoon, it wasn't actually Mama's Kitchen I was helping my father with, it was a similar program known as "Special Delivery," and we delivered a car-full of food to people with AIDS who have difficulty fending for themselves for various reasons.

It was quite sobering, to be driving through certain neighborhoods, to be greeted by someone, so sick and weak at the door, but so happy to see you, so appreciative for the help you are giving. It broke my heart to see such happiness from what, on our part, seemed such a simple and easy gesture.

I spent the rest of the evening home alone, pondering my lot in life. As I lay in bed, waiting for sleep to take me, I caught myself repeating the same two words in my head over and over and over: thank you, thank you, thank you.