Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2006-12-07

Reading and Exercising

"It doesn't matter how beautiful your theory is, it doesn't matter how smart you are. If it doesn't agree with experiment, it's wrong." -- Richard Feynman

Great quote. It reminds me of the stack of books I just received from Amazon, two of which are Richard Dawkins's "The God Delusion" and "The Selfish Gene." I have WAY more to read right now than I have the time! I'm already reading two books simultaneously (Rushdie's "Shalimar the Clown" and Kenyon's "Otherwise," a poetry collection). But now I've got to dig in to the book of the month book for my club, which finally arrived ("Tender at the Bone" by Ruth Reichl), so I can finish it in time for our next meeting in a week or so. And Ollie just chastised me for not having yet sunk my teeth into Capote's "In Cold Blood" that he leant me months ago. Sigh.

I can say that "Beasts of No Nation" was perhaps the most powerful book I've read in a long time. The author is only 24. Spectacular, heart-wrenching, eye-opening read.

In other news, FUCK it felt GREAT to work out with Charlie this morning! Two weeks no Charlie, two weeks no serious endorphin rushes. Even though I worked out at the gym on the island, it's just not the same as having someone watching over you saying, "Come on, five more, don't whine."

I've become a gym rat. It feels so GOOD to pant and work up a sweat. I never, ever thought I'd say that. Ever. But there it is. I was on the verge of screaming "WOOOO!" as I walked out of there this morning. I think the trip set me about a week behind (wine and pie, man, but it was worth it).

Now I need to work. Only when I finish what I have to write, will I have time to read.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Reading and Exercising 2006-12-07 10:51 a.m. "It doesn't matter how beautiful your theory is, it doesn't matter how smart you are. If it doesn't agree with experiment, it's wrong." -- Richard Feynman

Great quote. It reminds me of the stack of books I just received from Amazon, two of which are Richard Dawkins's "The God Delusion" and "The Selfish Gene." I have WAY more to read right now than I have the time! I'm already reading two books simultaneously (Rushdie's "Shalimar the Clown" and Kenyon's "Otherwise," a poetry collection). But now I've got to dig in to the book of the month book for my club, which finally arrived ("Tender at the Bone" by Ruth Reichl), so I can finish it in time for our next meeting in a week or so. And Ollie just chastised me for not having yet sunk my teeth into Capote's "In Cold Blood" that he leant me months ago. Sigh.

I can say that "Beasts of No Nation" was perhaps the most powerful book I've read in a long time. The author is only 24. Spectacular, heart-wrenching, eye-opening read.

In other news, FUCK it felt GREAT to work out with Charlie this morning! Two weeks no Charlie, two weeks no serious endorphin rushes. Even though I worked out at the gym on the island, it's just not the same as having someone watching over you saying, "Come on, five more, don't whine."

I've become a gym rat. It feels so GOOD to pant and work up a sweat. I never, ever thought I'd say that. Ever. But there it is. I was on the verge of screaming "WOOOO!" as I walked out of there this morning. I think the trip set me about a week behind (wine and pie, man, but it was worth it).

Now I need to work. Only when I finish what I have to write, will I have time to read.