Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2006-12-12

Quote, Poem, Update, and Off!

"The world would be astonished if it knew how great a proportion of its brightest ornaments, of those most distinguished even in popular estimation for wisdom and virtue, are complete sceptics in religion." -- John Stuart Mill

I wrote a poem while on the bus from Woods Hole to Boston:

He used to talk about leaving
for the mountains and living
off the land. I never imagined
such a thing possible,
not even when he disappeared,
my world limited to sliced
deli meats and bread
baked by someone else.

I've been very productive these past few days. I kinda had to, because we're leaving very early tomorrow morning! Can't tell you where, remember, it's a secret. At least until we get back on Friday night.

The weekend was lovely, we went to see a Broadway show on Saturday night (the 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee), it was cute. Not spectacular, but cute, with plenty of laughs. Sunday morning we went down to Mom's to celebrate her birthday (which was actually yesterday). And last night I had a wonderful evening with Dad, who is going to Japan after we get home from there. In between those things we had a few social gatherings, a lot of work, and some practicing of Japanese.

That's right! I can now explain, in accurate, well-accented Japanese, that a woman is driving a car, riding a horse, walking a dog, dancing, or singing. This software is great. I won't be conversational in time for our trip, but by the end of next year, if I keep it up, I stand to be fluent. Then on to Italian!

I have some work to do today, more things to get done, and then we pack for our little getaway in celebration of the birth of the man I love. Happy, happy, happy!

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Quote, Poem, Update, and Off! 2006-12-12 12:47 p.m. "The world would be astonished if it knew how great a proportion of its brightest ornaments, of those most distinguished even in popular estimation for wisdom and virtue, are complete sceptics in religion." -- John Stuart Mill

I wrote a poem while on the bus from Woods Hole to Boston:

He used to talk about leaving
for the mountains and living
off the land. I never imagined
such a thing possible,
not even when he disappeared,
my world limited to sliced
deli meats and bread
baked by someone else.

I've been very productive these past few days. I kinda had to, because we're leaving very early tomorrow morning! Can't tell you where, remember, it's a secret. At least until we get back on Friday night.

The weekend was lovely, we went to see a Broadway show on Saturday night (the 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee), it was cute. Not spectacular, but cute, with plenty of laughs. Sunday morning we went down to Mom's to celebrate her birthday (which was actually yesterday). And last night I had a wonderful evening with Dad, who is going to Japan after we get home from there. In between those things we had a few social gatherings, a lot of work, and some practicing of Japanese.

That's right! I can now explain, in accurate, well-accented Japanese, that a woman is driving a car, riding a horse, walking a dog, dancing, or singing. This software is great. I won't be conversational in time for our trip, but by the end of next year, if I keep it up, I stand to be fluent. Then on to Italian!

I have some work to do today, more things to get done, and then we pack for our little getaway in celebration of the birth of the man I love. Happy, happy, happy!