Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2007-01-06

First Tokyo Pictures!

"I'd rather see a sermon than hear one any day; I'd rather one should walk with me than merely point the way." -- Edgar Guest

So far everything's been quite comfortable, quite western here in Tokyo. But that's all going to change tomorrow. Tomorrow, we're going to Hakone, a small village two hours away from Tokyo, to stay in an old traditional Japanese Inn, known as a "ryokan." It's a good thing I'm picking up the general phrases here in the city, because no one where we're going will speak English.

We're having a GREAT time so far! I'm playing with Flickr so I can create folders with captions.

I'm taking lots of pictures, but just to give you an idea of what I've been seeing so far, here's a small batch of 11 photos, CLICK HERE!!!

And there will be many, many more on the way. Pay attention to the titles and captions if you look at the photos, because I explain to the best of my ability what everything is.

For the next two days, I will not have internet access (wah!) because we'll be in the boonies. But I hear the boonies are beautiful, especially when they're located right in the foothills of Fujiyama (Mount Fuji).

So far, the phrases that have been saving my ass in town are: Sumimasen and Onagaishi-masu. "Excuse me," and "I ask you," or "please." They may bow, but there eyes are saying, "Stupid gaijin."

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
First Tokyo Pictures! 2007-01-06 12:08 a.m. "I'd rather see a sermon than hear one any day; I'd rather one should walk with me than merely point the way." -- Edgar Guest

So far everything's been quite comfortable, quite western here in Tokyo. But that's all going to change tomorrow. Tomorrow, we're going to Hakone, a small village two hours away from Tokyo, to stay in an old traditional Japanese Inn, known as a "ryokan." It's a good thing I'm picking up the general phrases here in the city, because no one where we're going will speak English.

We're having a GREAT time so far! I'm playing with Flickr so I can create folders with captions.

I'm taking lots of pictures, but just to give you an idea of what I've been seeing so far, here's a small batch of 11 photos, CLICK HERE!!!

And there will be many, many more on the way. Pay attention to the titles and captions if you look at the photos, because I explain to the best of my ability what everything is.

For the next two days, I will not have internet access (wah!) because we'll be in the boonies. But I hear the boonies are beautiful, especially when they're located right in the foothills of Fujiyama (Mount Fuji).

So far, the phrases that have been saving my ass in town are: Sumimasen and Onagaishi-masu. "Excuse me," and "I ask you," or "please." They may bow, but there eyes are saying, "Stupid gaijin."