Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2007-02-15

Our Hearts are in San Francisco? Go figure!

"The world is a skirt I want to lift up." -- Hanif Kureishi

So this is random -- we flew out yesterday morning, destination Boston, and right now we're in San Francisco. The plan was, fly to Boston through Denver, check into our hotel and meet up with friends for a Valentine's Dinner for six. We didn't get off the ground in San Diego for almost four hours after we were supposed to, first flight ended up being cancelled due to some engine issue. We were re-routed through San Francisco to arrive in Boston at 11 p.m. We'd miss dinner, but we'd get there, right? Wrong!

When we arrived in San Francisco we found out that due to weather, all flights to Boston had been cancelled. Wah! Wait! Yay! This could be very cool! While waiting for someone to find our luggage, I booked us a luxury room at the Palomar Hotel and managed to get the last two seats available at Coco500 for their special Valentine's evening.

We got our luggage, took the BART into town, checked in, walked around in the sunny and warm afternoon air, got coffee, had our shoes shined by some charismatic men, did some browsing/shopping across the street at the Apple Store and Armani Exchange, relaxed in the giant two-person, neck-deep tub in our room (letting the stress of the travel unknowns of the day evaporate with the steam), had a pre-dinner drink at the hotel and then spent five minutes in a cab on the way to the restaurant, where we enjoyed spectacular, inspired food and chatted with other patrons.

We had no idea yesterday morning that we'd end up "stuck" in San Francisco for a night, but we're so happy we did! We were bummed to miss our friends, but we sure did make the most of it. Pretty soon here we'll start packing up, find something fun for breakfast, and make our way back to the airport.

But there's more! I got some LETTERS this week. One person wrote in, basically saying the ONLY way to keep a marriage together is to have children. Do you have any thoughts about that? If so, I encourage you to drop a note and air your opinion. I think it's fine if people want to have kids, hell, my sisters do, and I love those children. But they would balk if someone told them they couldn't keep their man around if it wasn't for those kids. Thoughts? It's So Easy To Send Them Over.

Anyway, my column this week, FISH FOOD, is much less controversial than last week's.

Thank you for clicking! Now I'm going to get dressed and find out our next step. It looks like the weather in Boston is tame for now... I'm crossing my fingers, but I don't know for what.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Our Hearts are in San Francisco? Go figure! 2007-02-15 8:05 a.m. "The world is a skirt I want to lift up." -- Hanif Kureishi

So this is random -- we flew out yesterday morning, destination Boston, and right now we're in San Francisco. The plan was, fly to Boston through Denver, check into our hotel and meet up with friends for a Valentine's Dinner for six. We didn't get off the ground in San Diego for almost four hours after we were supposed to, first flight ended up being cancelled due to some engine issue. We were re-routed through San Francisco to arrive in Boston at 11 p.m. We'd miss dinner, but we'd get there, right? Wrong!

When we arrived in San Francisco we found out that due to weather, all flights to Boston had been cancelled. Wah! Wait! Yay! This could be very cool! While waiting for someone to find our luggage, I booked us a luxury room at the Palomar Hotel and managed to get the last two seats available at Coco500 for their special Valentine's evening.

We got our luggage, took the BART into town, checked in, walked around in the sunny and warm afternoon air, got coffee, had our shoes shined by some charismatic men, did some browsing/shopping across the street at the Apple Store and Armani Exchange, relaxed in the giant two-person, neck-deep tub in our room (letting the stress of the travel unknowns of the day evaporate with the steam), had a pre-dinner drink at the hotel and then spent five minutes in a cab on the way to the restaurant, where we enjoyed spectacular, inspired food and chatted with other patrons.

We had no idea yesterday morning that we'd end up "stuck" in San Francisco for a night, but we're so happy we did! We were bummed to miss our friends, but we sure did make the most of it. Pretty soon here we'll start packing up, find something fun for breakfast, and make our way back to the airport.

But there's more! I got some LETTERS this week. One person wrote in, basically saying the ONLY way to keep a marriage together is to have children. Do you have any thoughts about that? If so, I encourage you to drop a note and air your opinion. I think it's fine if people want to have kids, hell, my sisters do, and I love those children. But they would balk if someone told them they couldn't keep their man around if it wasn't for those kids. Thoughts? It's So Easy To Send Them Over.

Anyway, my column this week, FISH FOOD, is much less controversial than last week's.

Thank you for clicking! Now I'm going to get dressed and find out our next step. It looks like the weather in Boston is tame for now... I'm crossing my fingers, but I don't know for what.