Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2000-11-07

Pleasant sighs

Last night was simply delightful. My father was in town for one night before leaving again for 3 weeks. He'd complain about all the travel, but the truth is, he loves traveling, even for work, just to be in and experience different places.

Anyway, he took my sister, Jenny and I out to dinner. Now, my father's no big spender. Before came over, we had talked on the phone and his suggestions included: slice o' pizza? chinese food? Denny's? But when he arrived, he said we were going to a nice Italian restaurant around the corner from our new place. When we got there, he took out a bottle of wine that he brought back with him from Italy almost a year ago. He said he was thinking on the way over, and that he wasn't concerned with money, just wanted to treat his daughters and spend time with them. The wine was delectable.

What a pleasant hour. It was just so carefree, no tension. I almost forgot what that was like. I knocked a glass of wine over, talking with my hands, my Italian-half coming out in me. I freaked at first, I felt so stupid, was fumbling with apologies and cloth-napkins. It took me a second to notice that they thought it was no big deal. They were laughing, Jenny re-enacting my hand in slow motion, and their giggles snapped me out of my embarrassment.

I'd hate to think that I've been conditioned by negativity. But nights like last night are reconditioning me, and I know I have nothing to worry about.

Dad left. Jenny and I went to Heather's (another sister), to watch Ally McBeal. Then we went home. Ah, home. I read Jenny what I wrote yesterday about mom. We shared a moment of sympathy for her. Jenny felt so bad she called my mom, just to see how she was doing. Half-way through their phone conversation, Jen was no longer feeling bad, I could tell by the annoyed look on her face. She had to get off the phone because at that point, we just started laughing again.

We sat and watched the cats in a silence only interrupted intermittently by giggles at their antics.

An hour later, I fell asleep smiling.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Pleasant sighs 2000-11-07 13:30:29 Last night was simply delightful. My father was in town for one night before leaving again for 3 weeks. He'd complain about all the travel, but the truth is, he loves traveling, even for work, just to be in and experience different places.

Anyway, he took my sister, Jenny and I out to dinner. Now, my father's no big spender. Before came over, we had talked on the phone and his suggestions included: slice o' pizza? chinese food? Denny's? But when he arrived, he said we were going to a nice Italian restaurant around the corner from our new place. When we got there, he took out a bottle of wine that he brought back with him from Italy almost a year ago. He said he was thinking on the way over, and that he wasn't concerned with money, just wanted to treat his daughters and spend time with them. The wine was delectable.

What a pleasant hour. It was just so carefree, no tension. I almost forgot what that was like. I knocked a glass of wine over, talking with my hands, my Italian-half coming out in me. I freaked at first, I felt so stupid, was fumbling with apologies and cloth-napkins. It took me a second to notice that they thought it was no big deal. They were laughing, Jenny re-enacting my hand in slow motion, and their giggles snapped me out of my embarrassment.

I'd hate to think that I've been conditioned by negativity. But nights like last night are reconditioning me, and I know I have nothing to worry about.

Dad left. Jenny and I went to Heather's (another sister), to watch Ally McBeal. Then we went home. Ah, home. I read Jenny what I wrote yesterday about mom. We shared a moment of sympathy for her. Jenny felt so bad she called my mom, just to see how she was doing. Half-way through their phone conversation, Jen was no longer feeling bad, I could tell by the annoyed look on her face. She had to get off the phone because at that point, we just started laughing again.

We sat and watched the cats in a silence only interrupted intermittently by giggles at their antics.

An hour later, I fell asleep smiling.