Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2002-10-05

Unplugged

Sigh, Sunday evening at my sister�s place, updating because tomorrow morning, I will not be in front of a computer, as I typically am. No, tomorrow morning I will be at the DMV. Wish me luck, people. I�ve got a whole lotta confusion to clear up, and I pray I get to deal with one of the smiley, nicer, more competent people working for the government (I know they exist, I have a habit of finding them). This weekend was the yin to last weekend�s yang. Let me tell you about it�

So much going on, trip to LA, friends gathering, as always, events, etc. And I managed to escape all of it, despite myself. This afternoon, I got a message from Johnny , on his way home from a housewarming that I completely forgot about. I know that if I had remembered that housewarming, I�d have been there, seeing good friends, seeing a new home, soaking it up and enjoying the people. But, having forgotten, having left my calendar at work (sick, but yes, I do keep track of my social schedule by writing it down), I came up to my sister�s house instead. I spent the day smiling at my baby nephew, helping Heather grade English papers, alleviated stress where I could, and relaxing. I�m positive that I would not be here right now had I remembered the scheduled engagement.

Let�s backtrack for a bit. Friday night, I got to hang out with Bunny for the first time in a WHILE! We had a few glasses of wine, caught up with each other, and then kidnapped a ridiculously adorable boy to hang with us and listen to some of Bunny�s favorite tunes. Very nice. Saturday, I escaped. I turned off my phone, entered the Zone, and I came back to my world feeling recharged, and more importantly, relaxed. I realized how rare it is for me to detach from the masses, to not be swayed by this party or this event, or this trip, and just disappear. It felt so wonderful and liberating, that I continued my social sabbatical through today, and I may not stop for another week. I�m on a roll here, and I have a book to finish that I�ve been reading forever (argh!), and four more that I purchased last week, four more that sit on my table and tease me, taunt me with their promises of good prose�

I�m going to crawl into it, and you may not be able to see me in there, and I think that it�s okay for me to not be seen for awhile. I think, therefore, it is. Now, to get home, read, and outline a plan of action for the DMV. That�s right, baby. I�m gonna plan that shit.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Unplugged 2002-10-05 8:55 p.m. Sigh, Sunday evening at my sister�s place, updating because tomorrow morning, I will not be in front of a computer, as I typically am. No, tomorrow morning I will be at the DMV. Wish me luck, people. I�ve got a whole lotta confusion to clear up, and I pray I get to deal with one of the smiley, nicer, more competent people working for the government (I know they exist, I have a habit of finding them). This weekend was the yin to last weekend�s yang. Let me tell you about it�

So much going on, trip to LA, friends gathering, as always, events, etc. And I managed to escape all of it, despite myself. This afternoon, I got a message from Johnny , on his way home from a housewarming that I completely forgot about. I know that if I had remembered that housewarming, I�d have been there, seeing good friends, seeing a new home, soaking it up and enjoying the people. But, having forgotten, having left my calendar at work (sick, but yes, I do keep track of my social schedule by writing it down), I came up to my sister�s house instead. I spent the day smiling at my baby nephew, helping Heather grade English papers, alleviated stress where I could, and relaxing. I�m positive that I would not be here right now had I remembered the scheduled engagement.

Let�s backtrack for a bit. Friday night, I got to hang out with Bunny for the first time in a WHILE! We had a few glasses of wine, caught up with each other, and then kidnapped a ridiculously adorable boy to hang with us and listen to some of Bunny�s favorite tunes. Very nice. Saturday, I escaped. I turned off my phone, entered the Zone, and I came back to my world feeling recharged, and more importantly, relaxed. I realized how rare it is for me to detach from the masses, to not be swayed by this party or this event, or this trip, and just disappear. It felt so wonderful and liberating, that I continued my social sabbatical through today, and I may not stop for another week. I�m on a roll here, and I have a book to finish that I�ve been reading forever (argh!), and four more that I purchased last week, four more that sit on my table and tease me, taunt me with their promises of good prose�

I�m going to crawl into it, and you may not be able to see me in there, and I think that it�s okay for me to not be seen for awhile. I think, therefore, it is. Now, to get home, read, and outline a plan of action for the DMV. That�s right, baby. I�m gonna plan that shit.