Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2003-10-07

Orgies, ballots, and plans

Uh, yeah, I don�t remember getting my invite for THAT party . Must have been an oversight. But anyhoo. I�m feeling good this morning. Yesterday I was fairly stressed out, stunned by all the work I knew I had to do. But, with M.s.�s help, most of it got done. The pressures of doing well in school still get to me. It�s a bitch, but somehow, I deal.

So, today�s the big ELECTION, eh? Today�s the day the people have their say and cast a vote for whomever they wish to lead this Golden State. Everyone in the office has asked me if I cast my vote yet. Every one of them has urged me to go vote, to help out in �the cause.� They urge me to vote, because they assume that I would be voting for the same candidate they voted for - for Cruz Bustamante. They are assuming wrong. First of all, I am not voting today. I am not taking that government-given right to have my voice heard on the matters today. I don�t like ANY of the candidates. If anything, Arnold will be the most entertaining, and I can�t imagine that any more damage could be done to our poor state at this juncture.

The firm I work for is hugely involved in politics. We support every democrat, we throw fund raisers for them, we throw money at them, we lobby the living shit out of them. I�m not really involved in any of that. The lawyers are concerned that if a republican is voted into office, the first thing to be evaluated is a tort reform. They may be right. They seem very afraid of this possible tort reform - it would mean less money for them. I can�t say I disagree with the few things I�ve read on the matter. I can't say it would be a "bad" thing if people were no longer available to sue other people for their mishaps. I would not voice this to the man, of course. I do want my bonus at the end of the year.

I think Arnold will win. This should be interesting. McBain for president! Hee hee hee. Only California could make a hollywood mockery out of politics. But honestly, people, I don�t think there are too many differences between the two as of late.

So, what else!? Tonight I have class. Tomorrow, I carve pumpkins. Thursday, I have a business mixer. Friday, holy sweet mother of weekends, it�s a 3-day! But we�re only on Tuesday, I have plenty of time to tell you about the impending weekend later.

I�m wearing purple lip gloss today. I feel cool and juicy. Not a bad way to feel. Okay then! It�s time to get some work done. I�ve got a LOOOOONG day ahead of me!

�When a whole nation is roaring Patriotism at the top of its voice, I am fain to explore the cleanness of its hands and the purity of its heart.� - Ralph Waldo Emerson

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Orgies, ballots, and plans 2003-10-07 9:23 a.m. Uh, yeah, I don�t remember getting my invite for THAT party . Must have been an oversight. But anyhoo. I�m feeling good this morning. Yesterday I was fairly stressed out, stunned by all the work I knew I had to do. But, with M.s.�s help, most of it got done. The pressures of doing well in school still get to me. It�s a bitch, but somehow, I deal.

So, today�s the big ELECTION, eh? Today�s the day the people have their say and cast a vote for whomever they wish to lead this Golden State. Everyone in the office has asked me if I cast my vote yet. Every one of them has urged me to go vote, to help out in �the cause.� They urge me to vote, because they assume that I would be voting for the same candidate they voted for - for Cruz Bustamante. They are assuming wrong. First of all, I am not voting today. I am not taking that government-given right to have my voice heard on the matters today. I don�t like ANY of the candidates. If anything, Arnold will be the most entertaining, and I can�t imagine that any more damage could be done to our poor state at this juncture.

The firm I work for is hugely involved in politics. We support every democrat, we throw fund raisers for them, we throw money at them, we lobby the living shit out of them. I�m not really involved in any of that. The lawyers are concerned that if a republican is voted into office, the first thing to be evaluated is a tort reform. They may be right. They seem very afraid of this possible tort reform - it would mean less money for them. I can�t say I disagree with the few things I�ve read on the matter. I can't say it would be a "bad" thing if people were no longer available to sue other people for their mishaps. I would not voice this to the man, of course. I do want my bonus at the end of the year.

I think Arnold will win. This should be interesting. McBain for president! Hee hee hee. Only California could make a hollywood mockery out of politics. But honestly, people, I don�t think there are too many differences between the two as of late.

So, what else!? Tonight I have class. Tomorrow, I carve pumpkins. Thursday, I have a business mixer. Friday, holy sweet mother of weekends, it�s a 3-day! But we�re only on Tuesday, I have plenty of time to tell you about the impending weekend later.

I�m wearing purple lip gloss today. I feel cool and juicy. Not a bad way to feel. Okay then! It�s time to get some work done. I�ve got a LOOOOONG day ahead of me!

�When a whole nation is roaring Patriotism at the top of its voice, I am fain to explore the cleanness of its hands and the purity of its heart.� - Ralph Waldo Emerson