Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2000-11-08

work

I'm starting to feel the stress of my job. Done with all the training, all the preparations, now I feel like a tiger being unleashed at the circus, surrounded by an audience of people who expect me to perform.

But I must admit, there is a big aspect of excitement that comes along with this. I never thought sales was truly my nitch, despite my outgoing personality and in-your-face mentality. At least not until this morning. I went in to meet with a prospective client, just a guy that I talked to on the phone, a company I know nothing about. And he said, "You have 10 minutes. Go ahead." My immediate thought was, "shit! what the fuck am I going to say that's going to convince this guy that he needs to pay ME thousands of dollars to find HIM an employee?"

Then I just started talking. It was like a high. After 5 minutes, after he had said that he has no positions open, I peaked his interest in a salesperson that I represent and he asked to see his resume. I felt like high-fiving someone.

It's interesting, because socially, I've taken a step back, have lost interest in trying to convince anyone of anything. I mean, what's the point, people have their opinions, and how am I going to learn from their opinions if all I'm doing is sharing mine?

But here, I have the opportunity to use my power of persuasion in the area it was meant to be used in: sales. It's amazing what a little triumph such as this morning can do for my confidence level. I'm a rock star.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
work 2000-11-08 16:57:30 I'm starting to feel the stress of my job. Done with all the training, all the preparations, now I feel like a tiger being unleashed at the circus, surrounded by an audience of people who expect me to perform.

But I must admit, there is a big aspect of excitement that comes along with this. I never thought sales was truly my nitch, despite my outgoing personality and in-your-face mentality. At least not until this morning. I went in to meet with a prospective client, just a guy that I talked to on the phone, a company I know nothing about. And he said, "You have 10 minutes. Go ahead." My immediate thought was, "shit! what the fuck am I going to say that's going to convince this guy that he needs to pay ME thousands of dollars to find HIM an employee?"

Then I just started talking. It was like a high. After 5 minutes, after he had said that he has no positions open, I peaked his interest in a salesperson that I represent and he asked to see his resume. I felt like high-fiving someone.

It's interesting, because socially, I've taken a step back, have lost interest in trying to convince anyone of anything. I mean, what's the point, people have their opinions, and how am I going to learn from their opinions if all I'm doing is sharing mine?

But here, I have the opportunity to use my power of persuasion in the area it was meant to be used in: sales. It's amazing what a little triumph such as this morning can do for my confidence level. I'm a rock star.