Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2002-02-19

Long weekend, take 2!

Okay, where did I leave off? Yes, that's right. I snatched up Nina and we headed over to Pixie's, for some more vodka (for me), water (for Nina), and words all around. Pixie looked so comfortable in her sweats, but that didn't stop us from making her change and dragging her out to the after-party. That's right, the Residence came through and invited half the freakin' club back to their house for an after-Casbah party. The dj's from out of state were there, partying it up before their flights shortly after dawn. Pixie threw on a gorgeous little number and over we went, to bring our beauty on the masses.

Lots of unfamiliar faces, we stayed off to the side, banded together, and tried to make sense of it all. I think we did a pretty damned good job, oh yes I do. Finally, Pixie had to turn in, and I needed to check on the pups, so we all went together on an adventure, and Nina and I arrived at the party, minus our third musketeer. The rest of the evening was amazing in its own way, I had some wonderful conversation with Nina, as we peeked further into each other's depths and two souls' faces lit up with recognition. Very cool. Reminds me of a quote (which I cannot attribute to an accurate source, forgive me): "Each of us is a one-winged angel, and only by embracing one another can we fly." Something like that. I love the initial sense of soaring as you catch wind for the first time with a new angel in your life. Saturday night was kinda like that.

Sunday, down to my mother's for a day of Pop Pop and the baby. Both being adorable. My grandfather, old, hard of hearing and seeing, is the epitome of unrestrained joy these last few weeks. I wasn't planning on staying long, so many things I wanted to do, people I wanted to meet up with that evening. But there he was, sitting off to the side, eyes shiny with happiness, and quite literally yelling his words, "I can't believe I'm here! With all my girls! In California, with my beautiful babies, only you're not babies anymore, you're all grown up!! And I'm not just a grandfather, I'm a GREAT grandfather! I can't believe it!" How can you leave that? We sat around and soaked in his loving gaze, laughed at each other, at the baby, at the utter emotion emanating from Pop Pop. I didn't leave until 9:30pm, and by then, it was too late for me to meet up with the many friends I planned to see that evening. But I was quite alright with that.

On the drive home, I made some phone calls, touched base with some people I love, and arrived back at my place completely content. What a great feeling that is. Yesterday, I lazed about, read a book, did my laundry, and then Kitty coaxed me into going shopping with her. An escapade that ended with a delicious, home-cooked meal for my father and me at our place, and watching Atlantis, that fairly new Disney movie. Great weekend. This morning, I was awake and alert before my alarm went off, conscious when my father called into my room to make sure I wasn't oversleeping, aware of the warmth and the softness of my blanket and sheets on my skin. I've got plans. I'm taking things one step at a time. And I'm living for each moment as I'm in it, trying to eliminate my needless and seemingly endless worries. And you know what? It feels good.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Long weekend, take 2! 2002-02-19 12:15 p.m. Okay, where did I leave off? Yes, that's right. I snatched up Nina and we headed over to Pixie's, for some more vodka (for me), water (for Nina), and words all around. Pixie looked so comfortable in her sweats, but that didn't stop us from making her change and dragging her out to the after-party. That's right, the Residence came through and invited half the freakin' club back to their house for an after-Casbah party. The dj's from out of state were there, partying it up before their flights shortly after dawn. Pixie threw on a gorgeous little number and over we went, to bring our beauty on the masses.

Lots of unfamiliar faces, we stayed off to the side, banded together, and tried to make sense of it all. I think we did a pretty damned good job, oh yes I do. Finally, Pixie had to turn in, and I needed to check on the pups, so we all went together on an adventure, and Nina and I arrived at the party, minus our third musketeer. The rest of the evening was amazing in its own way, I had some wonderful conversation with Nina, as we peeked further into each other's depths and two souls' faces lit up with recognition. Very cool. Reminds me of a quote (which I cannot attribute to an accurate source, forgive me): "Each of us is a one-winged angel, and only by embracing one another can we fly." Something like that. I love the initial sense of soaring as you catch wind for the first time with a new angel in your life. Saturday night was kinda like that.

Sunday, down to my mother's for a day of Pop Pop and the baby. Both being adorable. My grandfather, old, hard of hearing and seeing, is the epitome of unrestrained joy these last few weeks. I wasn't planning on staying long, so many things I wanted to do, people I wanted to meet up with that evening. But there he was, sitting off to the side, eyes shiny with happiness, and quite literally yelling his words, "I can't believe I'm here! With all my girls! In California, with my beautiful babies, only you're not babies anymore, you're all grown up!! And I'm not just a grandfather, I'm a GREAT grandfather! I can't believe it!" How can you leave that? We sat around and soaked in his loving gaze, laughed at each other, at the baby, at the utter emotion emanating from Pop Pop. I didn't leave until 9:30pm, and by then, it was too late for me to meet up with the many friends I planned to see that evening. But I was quite alright with that.

On the drive home, I made some phone calls, touched base with some people I love, and arrived back at my place completely content. What a great feeling that is. Yesterday, I lazed about, read a book, did my laundry, and then Kitty coaxed me into going shopping with her. An escapade that ended with a delicious, home-cooked meal for my father and me at our place, and watching Atlantis, that fairly new Disney movie. Great weekend. This morning, I was awake and alert before my alarm went off, conscious when my father called into my room to make sure I wasn't oversleeping, aware of the warmth and the softness of my blanket and sheets on my skin. I've got plans. I'm taking things one step at a time. And I'm living for each moment as I'm in it, trying to eliminate my needless and seemingly endless worries. And you know what? It feels good.