Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2002-06-10

Weekend Update, weddings & receptions

�Nothing is a waste of time if you use the experience wisely.� Rodin (my favorite sculptor, by the way)

I must say, the last thing I�ve been doing with my insane schedule is �wasting time.� It�s almost getting too difficult to keep up with my updates. My hand is sore from writing away in my personal journal. But we�ll do the best we can with summaries for now. Perhaps another time, to elaborate on the intricacies of the various events I get myself into.

Our video of Tiffany in going to be on E! Entertainment�s True Hollywood Story of her, if everything goes as planned. They�re supposed to call me back today and let me know the amount they�re willing to offer, and Bobo�s name is to be in the credits. I love doing things like that, negotiating on the phone, making deals, etc. Call it a hobby.

Friday night, I hung with Bunny, Ronaldo, Ollie & Petunia. Fun little crowd, few drinks here and there, between my dramatic and informative phone calls � I�ll try to get to those. Saturday, brunch with Sheri, fun and laughs and resume talk. Saturday night, oh, Saturday night. You know, I wasn�t overly looking forward to this party for Jeffrey, LovelyL�s man. I found a few things odd, the particular invite list, the surprise guest, and perhaps I was just overly cranky for the day, expecting the worst out of what is supposed to be one of the best events.

The first ones to arrive, Bunny, Blove and I made ourselves comfy in the back, where I happily bitched about invitation-etiquette and other related subject matters. Then, people began to arrive. Wonderful people, people I love, people I rarely get to see. Val was spinning music, people were catching up, laughing, eating, and just being freakin� merry. Very nice. Then, the surprise. Lorena and Jeffrey were married AT the party. And it was lovely. After the very informal ceremony, Bunny sang a beautiful song to the happy couple, and we headed home. Very nice. Overall, a great party.

It was funny, when the couple was reminiscing about the moment they met to this very moment. I remember distinctly the moment they met, because I was at a party at Lioness�s, walking with Lorena into the room where her future husband sat. We were far from sober, and she ended up leaving the party with him and basically never coming back. And here they are, married. It�s amazing to me how chance encounters definitely effect your entire life. Something I�m definitely paying attention to more in my life, everything I say and do, every person I potentially have an effect on � which is every person I encounter.

Sunday morning, Hillcrest Book Fair, I went with Kitty, Bunny, and Sheri. We ransacked the place, though I couldn�t find any gem for myself. Which is fine, I�ve already got quite a lineup. I�m currently reading Fool�s Crow, by James Welch. Native American literature, and my God, the first few chapters were very difficult for me, getting used to the writing style after my candy-Koontz novel. But once I became accustomed to nouns as names, I was able to become engrossed in the story and the characters� I�m loving it, it�s like I found an entire new genre.

Anyhoo, one more little thing before I let you go for the day. Oops, just kidding, make that two. I saw Waking Life last night, after Halcyon�s huge recommendation. I enjoyed it, it�s definitely one you have to pay attention to, being a series of extremely detailed philosophic conversations. And the other thing � tonight I am going to an event on a Japanese ship. I�m not sure what it is, exactly. I am sure, however, that I�ll have a full detailed update for you about it tomorrow. See, a friend of my father�s is the admiral of the Japanese Navy, which is, well, the highest possible rank. So there�s some reception or dinner party thing, with all these military and political heavies on this ship tonight.

Dad said that the last event he attended had the higher-ups in old Japanese garb, including thick headbands across their foreheads, and there was a ceremonial breaking open of the giant Saki case with swords. Ooh, I hope there�s something like that tonight. In any event, I know it will be exciting and momentous. I can't wait to tell you about it!

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Weekend Update, weddings & receptions 2002-06-10 10:14 a.m. �Nothing is a waste of time if you use the experience wisely.� Rodin (my favorite sculptor, by the way)

I must say, the last thing I�ve been doing with my insane schedule is �wasting time.� It�s almost getting too difficult to keep up with my updates. My hand is sore from writing away in my personal journal. But we�ll do the best we can with summaries for now. Perhaps another time, to elaborate on the intricacies of the various events I get myself into.

Our video of Tiffany in going to be on E! Entertainment�s True Hollywood Story of her, if everything goes as planned. They�re supposed to call me back today and let me know the amount they�re willing to offer, and Bobo�s name is to be in the credits. I love doing things like that, negotiating on the phone, making deals, etc. Call it a hobby.

Friday night, I hung with Bunny, Ronaldo, Ollie & Petunia. Fun little crowd, few drinks here and there, between my dramatic and informative phone calls � I�ll try to get to those. Saturday, brunch with Sheri, fun and laughs and resume talk. Saturday night, oh, Saturday night. You know, I wasn�t overly looking forward to this party for Jeffrey, LovelyL�s man. I found a few things odd, the particular invite list, the surprise guest, and perhaps I was just overly cranky for the day, expecting the worst out of what is supposed to be one of the best events.

The first ones to arrive, Bunny, Blove and I made ourselves comfy in the back, where I happily bitched about invitation-etiquette and other related subject matters. Then, people began to arrive. Wonderful people, people I love, people I rarely get to see. Val was spinning music, people were catching up, laughing, eating, and just being freakin� merry. Very nice. Then, the surprise. Lorena and Jeffrey were married AT the party. And it was lovely. After the very informal ceremony, Bunny sang a beautiful song to the happy couple, and we headed home. Very nice. Overall, a great party.

It was funny, when the couple was reminiscing about the moment they met to this very moment. I remember distinctly the moment they met, because I was at a party at Lioness�s, walking with Lorena into the room where her future husband sat. We were far from sober, and she ended up leaving the party with him and basically never coming back. And here they are, married. It�s amazing to me how chance encounters definitely effect your entire life. Something I�m definitely paying attention to more in my life, everything I say and do, every person I potentially have an effect on � which is every person I encounter.

Sunday morning, Hillcrest Book Fair, I went with Kitty, Bunny, and Sheri. We ransacked the place, though I couldn�t find any gem for myself. Which is fine, I�ve already got quite a lineup. I�m currently reading Fool�s Crow, by James Welch. Native American literature, and my God, the first few chapters were very difficult for me, getting used to the writing style after my candy-Koontz novel. But once I became accustomed to nouns as names, I was able to become engrossed in the story and the characters� I�m loving it, it�s like I found an entire new genre.

Anyhoo, one more little thing before I let you go for the day. Oops, just kidding, make that two. I saw Waking Life last night, after Halcyon�s huge recommendation. I enjoyed it, it�s definitely one you have to pay attention to, being a series of extremely detailed philosophic conversations. And the other thing � tonight I am going to an event on a Japanese ship. I�m not sure what it is, exactly. I am sure, however, that I�ll have a full detailed update for you about it tomorrow. See, a friend of my father�s is the admiral of the Japanese Navy, which is, well, the highest possible rank. So there�s some reception or dinner party thing, with all these military and political heavies on this ship tonight.

Dad said that the last event he attended had the higher-ups in old Japanese garb, including thick headbands across their foreheads, and there was a ceremonial breaking open of the giant Saki case with swords. Ooh, I hope there�s something like that tonight. In any event, I know it will be exciting and momentous. I can't wait to tell you about it!