Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2005-01-03

Happy New Year!

We JUST got back from Vermont. Dad was nice enough to take some time and pick us up from the airport -- it's nice to get home and have someone you love waiting for you.

Okay, so Vermont was cold, but there was hardly any snow. The night we arrived, it was 9 degrees, and the lush snow covered the hills, but there are 2 reasons I couldn't really enjoy it. Reason #1, it was really late. Reason #2 (read: the main reason), our luggage did not arrive with us, meaning I had not but the shirt on my back to stand outside in the 9 degree air. Also, the stress of not knowing if I would have my fabulous outfit for our New Year's Eve dinner almost did me in.

Luckily, we picked up our bags the next day, as the snow began to melt. By the time we left, the grass was green and visible on nearly every hill I saw.

We had a WONDERFUL time with our friends from Boston, Paul and Sarah. Dinner at the Trapp Family Lodge (I had no idea it was a true story until we were leaving, and the epiphany, as Paul said, may have changed my life significantly). I bought an album, the poems of Robert Frost sung by one of the Von Trapps, I believe her name is Elisabeth, but don't quote me on that. Not my favorite, but I haven't listened to the whole thing yet, so I'm not giving up on her.

I toured the Ben & Jerry's factory! Mmmm, free ice cream. The Vermont Teddy Bear shop, the Cabot Cheese shop, something about Lake Champlain chocolates, all of it was on one stretch of road, and we saw everything in a matter of hours. The cold cider mill (yum, I might just take up apple juice drinking again) was the previous day.

Oh, but I know what you want to hear about -- the TUB. The giant, two-people-can-lay-down, deep Jacuzzi tub, not in the bathroom, but in the BEDROOM. Across from the fireplace, right next to my side of the bed, so I could relax in the bubbles, stand up, towel off, and take one step into the cool air before getting beneath the soft, fire-warmed sheets. Nice.

I'm here through Thursday, and then we fly out for Houston. I'll make the most of it, continuing my work and catching up with friends. Tonight, we see Ollie! Tomorrow night, I'm hoping to see Spider Monkey. Right now, I'm going to take this towel off of my head and do something with my freshly washed hair. It feels good to be home. Even if it's just to get ready for the next trip.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Happy New Year! 2005-01-03 4:28 p.m. We JUST got back from Vermont. Dad was nice enough to take some time and pick us up from the airport -- it's nice to get home and have someone you love waiting for you.

Okay, so Vermont was cold, but there was hardly any snow. The night we arrived, it was 9 degrees, and the lush snow covered the hills, but there are 2 reasons I couldn't really enjoy it. Reason #1, it was really late. Reason #2 (read: the main reason), our luggage did not arrive with us, meaning I had not but the shirt on my back to stand outside in the 9 degree air. Also, the stress of not knowing if I would have my fabulous outfit for our New Year's Eve dinner almost did me in.

Luckily, we picked up our bags the next day, as the snow began to melt. By the time we left, the grass was green and visible on nearly every hill I saw.

We had a WONDERFUL time with our friends from Boston, Paul and Sarah. Dinner at the Trapp Family Lodge (I had no idea it was a true story until we were leaving, and the epiphany, as Paul said, may have changed my life significantly). I bought an album, the poems of Robert Frost sung by one of the Von Trapps, I believe her name is Elisabeth, but don't quote me on that. Not my favorite, but I haven't listened to the whole thing yet, so I'm not giving up on her.

I toured the Ben & Jerry's factory! Mmmm, free ice cream. The Vermont Teddy Bear shop, the Cabot Cheese shop, something about Lake Champlain chocolates, all of it was on one stretch of road, and we saw everything in a matter of hours. The cold cider mill (yum, I might just take up apple juice drinking again) was the previous day.

Oh, but I know what you want to hear about -- the TUB. The giant, two-people-can-lay-down, deep Jacuzzi tub, not in the bathroom, but in the BEDROOM. Across from the fireplace, right next to my side of the bed, so I could relax in the bubbles, stand up, towel off, and take one step into the cool air before getting beneath the soft, fire-warmed sheets. Nice.

I'm here through Thursday, and then we fly out for Houston. I'll make the most of it, continuing my work and catching up with friends. Tonight, we see Ollie! Tomorrow night, I'm hoping to see Spider Monkey. Right now, I'm going to take this towel off of my head and do something with my freshly washed hair. It feels good to be home. Even if it's just to get ready for the next trip.
margaux - 2005-01-03 22:43:01
glad to hear that you (apparently not including your luggage; i, too, encountered the same problem that night) got into Vermont okay! thank you both for quite the enjoyable plane ride in its entire 5 lovely hours. i'm also curious to hear who ended up winning that.. interestly 'beige-y' scrabble game? As it turns out, my cousin in la jolla may be getting married soon, so keep in touch! thanks again --margaux ps~my dad is in love w/ david's photos
-------------------------------
Barbarella - 2005-01-03 23:19:55
That's wonderful! So great to hear from you, Margaux, we had been talking about you after the flight, how we'd never have guessed you for your age, as you seem to really have your shit together in all capacities. If your dad ever wants a list of David's upcoming shows (like if he enjoys attending gallery openings), just shoot me an email. Photo L.A. is at the end of January, and he has an opening at his L.A. gallery in March. Glad to hear you got home safely from that LONG trip! Keep me updated on any impending trip to my neck of the woods. - Barb
-------------------------------