Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2001-03-27

Sigh of relief

This morning is good. A point was made to me yesterday, bright and clear. I had been feeling so distant from some friends, like there�s not enough time spent, not enough interaction. As if it was possible to lose someone that way. But upon reading my journal here, and seeing that I was having a moment, two very good friends called to check in on me. They are there, you can�t always see them, but they are there. It reminds me of a poem I wrote about a friend, comparing him to the moon. Just because the moon is not full and at its brightest, does not mean it is not there, maintaining gravity and renewing itself for another rotation. That�s a brief summary, of course.

Anyway, my point is that I have a lot of time and love and care invested already into friends. I have quite a net to catch me when I fall and many hands to wipe away my tears, many shoulders upon which to lay my head. Because once someone loves you, that doesn�t just go away. I don�t use the word �friend� lightly. I have a handful of very good friends, people I�ve known for years, who have watched me grow and change, who have supported, encouraged, and listened. Yes, people get busy, myself included. But we are here. It�s just really good to know that and be reminded of it from time to time.

Last night I went to see Enemy at the Gate. Awesome movie. Jude Law and Joseph Feinnes are, well, they�re fucking hot. I got to see it with my friend, Eddie, very nice, we were both able to appreciate the aesthetic value of those boys� faces. And it really was a good movie, to boot. We went to the book store and I bought my sister a children�s book simply entitled, �Sisters�. When I got home, she was still at work. I wrote in the inset, something of a little joke between us; something I would say whenever we fought that would take us out of the fight and remind us who and what we are to each other. I talked to my older sisters on the phone, explained what was going on, that our youngest is in a bad time of her life right now, feeling lost, and lashing out. I asked that when they interact with her, that they offer as much encouragement and love as possible, because motivation is what she seems to need right now. They both agreed and understood, it�s nice to have such strong family support. I�ve written often about my sisters, and really, the four of us together are quite a team of love. So I know we�ll help the little one through all this, and we�ll all be fine.

This morning (she got home after I fell asleep), my sister woke up early as I was getting ready for work and thanked me for the book in a quiet, sleepy voice. I said, �You�re welcome, hon,� and that was all. I drove to work with a smile on my face.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Sigh of relief 2001-03-27 09:40 a.m. This morning is good. A point was made to me yesterday, bright and clear. I had been feeling so distant from some friends, like there�s not enough time spent, not enough interaction. As if it was possible to lose someone that way. But upon reading my journal here, and seeing that I was having a moment, two very good friends called to check in on me. They are there, you can�t always see them, but they are there. It reminds me of a poem I wrote about a friend, comparing him to the moon. Just because the moon is not full and at its brightest, does not mean it is not there, maintaining gravity and renewing itself for another rotation. That�s a brief summary, of course.

Anyway, my point is that I have a lot of time and love and care invested already into friends. I have quite a net to catch me when I fall and many hands to wipe away my tears, many shoulders upon which to lay my head. Because once someone loves you, that doesn�t just go away. I don�t use the word �friend� lightly. I have a handful of very good friends, people I�ve known for years, who have watched me grow and change, who have supported, encouraged, and listened. Yes, people get busy, myself included. But we are here. It�s just really good to know that and be reminded of it from time to time.

Last night I went to see Enemy at the Gate. Awesome movie. Jude Law and Joseph Feinnes are, well, they�re fucking hot. I got to see it with my friend, Eddie, very nice, we were both able to appreciate the aesthetic value of those boys� faces. And it really was a good movie, to boot. We went to the book store and I bought my sister a children�s book simply entitled, �Sisters�. When I got home, she was still at work. I wrote in the inset, something of a little joke between us; something I would say whenever we fought that would take us out of the fight and remind us who and what we are to each other. I talked to my older sisters on the phone, explained what was going on, that our youngest is in a bad time of her life right now, feeling lost, and lashing out. I asked that when they interact with her, that they offer as much encouragement and love as possible, because motivation is what she seems to need right now. They both agreed and understood, it�s nice to have such strong family support. I�ve written often about my sisters, and really, the four of us together are quite a team of love. So I know we�ll help the little one through all this, and we�ll all be fine.

This morning (she got home after I fell asleep), my sister woke up early as I was getting ready for work and thanked me for the book in a quiet, sleepy voice. I said, �You�re welcome, hon,� and that was all. I drove to work with a smile on my face.