Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2001-05-31

Coffee, Waves, and Cars

Large coffee, 2 shots of espresso (yes, I take espresso in my coffee, even though it�s intended for cappuccino�s), extra scoop of vanilla (take that edge of bitterness from the bean), no milk, keep the foam, caramel, that�s good. Maybe I�ll wake up a bit today. It�s like I have this psychological problem this week, getting so tired and lethargic at work that I tend to doze off mid-conversation. Perhaps I�ve developed some mild form of narcolepsy, which my subconscious kicks into action when I�m in a situation I�d rather not deal with. That�s it, I say, just pass out and it�ll all go away! Hmm, that reminds me of a party and a sticky situation (or several). It�s the opossum approach. Play dead. No one has to know.

So, last night, 2 girlfriends of mine sat in the front row and went back stage with Tom Petty. I can�t wait to hear their stories of how the evening went! Funny, I feel as if I�ll get just as much vicariously as I would if I had been there myself. So obviously, I didn�t go, gave up my VIP opportunity, took a step back from whatever the evening may have presented. I don�t regret it at all. I had a wonderful evening. I had a tasty dinner at a quaint little restaurant I�d never been to before and then to another place I�ve never been to, at the ocean, down on a huge boulder directly over the waves, maybe 10 feet down, crashing on the rocks and shore. How relaxing it was. I actually felt like I was able to sit and breathe for the first time in weeks. It�s been too long since I�ve been to simply look at the waves. A nice, romantic evening, good food and drink and the sound and feel of the ocean at night? I�d take that over Tom Petty any day.

Whew! Okay, it�s a few hours after I started this (had to conduct an interview), coffee has KICKED IN. Thank God. The day is actually looking pretty good, best one so far in quite a while here at the shit-hole. Maybe I�ll close a sale and be carried away by all of my coworkers, shouting praises and littering the air with confetti. Maybe. Thursday, that means tomorrow is Friday, and that means, sigh, sleeping in. I can�t wait for that. Wow, you don�t know how effective 2 shots of espresso in coffee really is. My head is tingling.

I need to pick out a new car. Any suggestions? Okay, I just scratched my forehead and it still feels like I�m holding a finger to it or something. This is an odd sensation. What was in that espresso?

Enough of my tangentiality. My sister gets back into town today. I get this message that she arrives at 5:23 pm, that I need to get her from the airport. Okay, now here�s the difficult part: NO airline info, NO flight number. Poor girl isn�t getting a ride. Of all the information you would think to give someone picking you up at the airport, I would think the TIME is the LEAST significant. Times change. We call to check if times change. To find that out, we must know the airline at least, and if you�re really responsible, perhaps the flight number as well. You can tell she doesn�t travel much. Lesson learned when I get a call at home around 6 from a frustrated little sister who doesn�t understand why she�s been abandoned. And I�ll be picking her up in HER car, her car that is now missing a rear-view mirror on the passenger side (I swear, it wasn�t my fault!), and sporting a broken cup-holder thingy (that WAS my fault).

She might be a bit perturbed, but I�m ready to handle anything life throws my way. We have to be, you know. Ready, that is. Else we�ll all just be too overwhelmed to wake up tomorrow. I�m in a good mood right now, so I�m gonna end here and go enjoy it. Seriously think about the car thing, I could use some advice and input, I�m a car-tardo.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Coffee, Waves, and Cars 2001-05-31 10:27 a.m. Large coffee, 2 shots of espresso (yes, I take espresso in my coffee, even though it�s intended for cappuccino�s), extra scoop of vanilla (take that edge of bitterness from the bean), no milk, keep the foam, caramel, that�s good. Maybe I�ll wake up a bit today. It�s like I have this psychological problem this week, getting so tired and lethargic at work that I tend to doze off mid-conversation. Perhaps I�ve developed some mild form of narcolepsy, which my subconscious kicks into action when I�m in a situation I�d rather not deal with. That�s it, I say, just pass out and it�ll all go away! Hmm, that reminds me of a party and a sticky situation (or several). It�s the opossum approach. Play dead. No one has to know.

So, last night, 2 girlfriends of mine sat in the front row and went back stage with Tom Petty. I can�t wait to hear their stories of how the evening went! Funny, I feel as if I�ll get just as much vicariously as I would if I had been there myself. So obviously, I didn�t go, gave up my VIP opportunity, took a step back from whatever the evening may have presented. I don�t regret it at all. I had a wonderful evening. I had a tasty dinner at a quaint little restaurant I�d never been to before and then to another place I�ve never been to, at the ocean, down on a huge boulder directly over the waves, maybe 10 feet down, crashing on the rocks and shore. How relaxing it was. I actually felt like I was able to sit and breathe for the first time in weeks. It�s been too long since I�ve been to simply look at the waves. A nice, romantic evening, good food and drink and the sound and feel of the ocean at night? I�d take that over Tom Petty any day.

Whew! Okay, it�s a few hours after I started this (had to conduct an interview), coffee has KICKED IN. Thank God. The day is actually looking pretty good, best one so far in quite a while here at the shit-hole. Maybe I�ll close a sale and be carried away by all of my coworkers, shouting praises and littering the air with confetti. Maybe. Thursday, that means tomorrow is Friday, and that means, sigh, sleeping in. I can�t wait for that. Wow, you don�t know how effective 2 shots of espresso in coffee really is. My head is tingling.

I need to pick out a new car. Any suggestions? Okay, I just scratched my forehead and it still feels like I�m holding a finger to it or something. This is an odd sensation. What was in that espresso?

Enough of my tangentiality. My sister gets back into town today. I get this message that she arrives at 5:23 pm, that I need to get her from the airport. Okay, now here�s the difficult part: NO airline info, NO flight number. Poor girl isn�t getting a ride. Of all the information you would think to give someone picking you up at the airport, I would think the TIME is the LEAST significant. Times change. We call to check if times change. To find that out, we must know the airline at least, and if you�re really responsible, perhaps the flight number as well. You can tell she doesn�t travel much. Lesson learned when I get a call at home around 6 from a frustrated little sister who doesn�t understand why she�s been abandoned. And I�ll be picking her up in HER car, her car that is now missing a rear-view mirror on the passenger side (I swear, it wasn�t my fault!), and sporting a broken cup-holder thingy (that WAS my fault).

She might be a bit perturbed, but I�m ready to handle anything life throws my way. We have to be, you know. Ready, that is. Else we�ll all just be too overwhelmed to wake up tomorrow. I�m in a good mood right now, so I�m gonna end here and go enjoy it. Seriously think about the car thing, I could use some advice and input, I�m a car-tardo.