Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2001-07-09

Play Girl & Boys

Sometimes, I feel as if I will never allow myself a weekend of rest. A weekend of staying at home, just laying and reading, staying in and relaxing. Not that it bothers me that much, it�s just that I�m SO unbelievably tired! I�ll pull through, just you watch and see. In other words, I had a fully-packed, eventful and busy weekend. And I�m exhausted. Been hanging out with a new boy, B. He�s the boy that tagged along with me and my ladies last Tuesday night. Cool guy, just moved here from one of those states by the great lakes (I�m horrible with names). But back to the recap of my weekend for you:

Friday night, Jenny, B, and I headed downtown to a new hangout, Pokeez. Music, Sangria, and a full house of rock-a-billy hipsters. Cool people, cool place, however, the speakers weren�t working and it was hot as hell inside, so we had a drink and left to go somewhere more local to home, the Lamplighter, a local dive-karaoke bar. Many drinks and thousands of laughs later, we headed back to our place and sang along to the Les Miserables soundtrack while intermittently discussing life. Nice, mellow, comfortable.

Saturday was beautiful. First road trip in my new car, S and I drove up to Laguna Beach for the Sawdust Arts Festival. God, it was gorgeous up there! Waterfalls and huts and trees, amazing art, some live bands, and despite all the people milling about, there was a mellow overtone to the whole place. It was quiet-seeming. As if everyone was very relaxed, almost drugged. We had a great time, met up with a friend of S�s who lives up there, a cool guy who matches me wit for wit in repartee. We had a fabulous time making S laugh. After driving home, repeating over and over what a great time we had to each other, how happy we were to have gone to the festival, S and I went our separate ways to get ready for the evening.

Billy Midnight at the Casbah. Good music, another cool crowd. When Billy Midnight finished their set, my posse and I headed over to the Ken Club, initially to catch another band, but we ended up sitting at the bar and having some drinks while listening to the music of the jukebox fade in and out, depending on the volume of the band�s music in the next room. After that band finished, we headed to an after-party at the members of Billy Midnight�s house. I remember Mike�s Hard Lemonade, laughing at the fact that the small crowd there was in such deep conversations, sober and sitting and talking, like a study-workshop or philosophy discussion course. Passing out on top of S on top of the Love Sack � a giant bean bag that was set in the backyard. What a great nap! Something about Mexican food and then crawling into bed to pass out and sleep soundly. Nice, full day and evening. Friends, laughter, drinking, music, food and sleep. Isn�t that what life is all about?

Sunday morning, S, Eddie and B dragged me out to Hamburger Mary�s for some breakfast. My father showed up there right before we ordered and decided to join us, which was a pleasant surprise. He�s leaving for a few weeks on business, and I wanted to get a chance to hang with him before he goes, and Voila! He appears for breakfast (not to mention, he paid for mine, hee hee). After he left, the rest of us sitting at the table to finish our drinks and a smoke, the most amazing thing happened. B, our new friend, came out of the closet. To us. The first time in his LIFE he has EVER told ANYONE that he is gay, and he chose to tell these new friends of his, us. He moved away from his hometown by the great lakes, away from his conservative friends and family, to live in a city that is accepting of all walks of life, of all races and orientations. We cheered for him at the table, offered celebration, and told him to write down this day, July 8th, yesterday, as his own special anniversary, to be celebrated every year. We were honored to be a part of it.

The rest of the day was lazy as hell. I showed B his first PlayGirl magazine, we enjoyed it together. Then, thanks to Eddie, we converted my apartment into Barbarella�s Beach House, listening to his new Beach Music CD�s, drinking wine, and laying out on the cement pathway in front of my door. It was hilarious. Eddie was only wearing his new purple pilot glasses and some cute little red shorts (his bathing suit). Walking back and forth through the complex and randomly striking poses while laying on the asphalt or the grass, we all had quite a laugh. Continuing on our lazy theme, S and I watched a movie at the end of the night and headed to bed, having accomplished nothing (in the name of laundry, cleaning or other chores and duties) the entire weekend. And we accepted that, knowing that shit will get taken care of during the week. The weekend is for play, and by God, that is what we did.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Play Girl & Boys 2001-07-09 8:53 a.m. Sometimes, I feel as if I will never allow myself a weekend of rest. A weekend of staying at home, just laying and reading, staying in and relaxing. Not that it bothers me that much, it�s just that I�m SO unbelievably tired! I�ll pull through, just you watch and see. In other words, I had a fully-packed, eventful and busy weekend. And I�m exhausted. Been hanging out with a new boy, B. He�s the boy that tagged along with me and my ladies last Tuesday night. Cool guy, just moved here from one of those states by the great lakes (I�m horrible with names). But back to the recap of my weekend for you:

Friday night, Jenny, B, and I headed downtown to a new hangout, Pokeez. Music, Sangria, and a full house of rock-a-billy hipsters. Cool people, cool place, however, the speakers weren�t working and it was hot as hell inside, so we had a drink and left to go somewhere more local to home, the Lamplighter, a local dive-karaoke bar. Many drinks and thousands of laughs later, we headed back to our place and sang along to the Les Miserables soundtrack while intermittently discussing life. Nice, mellow, comfortable.

Saturday was beautiful. First road trip in my new car, S and I drove up to Laguna Beach for the Sawdust Arts Festival. God, it was gorgeous up there! Waterfalls and huts and trees, amazing art, some live bands, and despite all the people milling about, there was a mellow overtone to the whole place. It was quiet-seeming. As if everyone was very relaxed, almost drugged. We had a great time, met up with a friend of S�s who lives up there, a cool guy who matches me wit for wit in repartee. We had a fabulous time making S laugh. After driving home, repeating over and over what a great time we had to each other, how happy we were to have gone to the festival, S and I went our separate ways to get ready for the evening.

Billy Midnight at the Casbah. Good music, another cool crowd. When Billy Midnight finished their set, my posse and I headed over to the Ken Club, initially to catch another band, but we ended up sitting at the bar and having some drinks while listening to the music of the jukebox fade in and out, depending on the volume of the band�s music in the next room. After that band finished, we headed to an after-party at the members of Billy Midnight�s house. I remember Mike�s Hard Lemonade, laughing at the fact that the small crowd there was in such deep conversations, sober and sitting and talking, like a study-workshop or philosophy discussion course. Passing out on top of S on top of the Love Sack � a giant bean bag that was set in the backyard. What a great nap! Something about Mexican food and then crawling into bed to pass out and sleep soundly. Nice, full day and evening. Friends, laughter, drinking, music, food and sleep. Isn�t that what life is all about?

Sunday morning, S, Eddie and B dragged me out to Hamburger Mary�s for some breakfast. My father showed up there right before we ordered and decided to join us, which was a pleasant surprise. He�s leaving for a few weeks on business, and I wanted to get a chance to hang with him before he goes, and Voila! He appears for breakfast (not to mention, he paid for mine, hee hee). After he left, the rest of us sitting at the table to finish our drinks and a smoke, the most amazing thing happened. B, our new friend, came out of the closet. To us. The first time in his LIFE he has EVER told ANYONE that he is gay, and he chose to tell these new friends of his, us. He moved away from his hometown by the great lakes, away from his conservative friends and family, to live in a city that is accepting of all walks of life, of all races and orientations. We cheered for him at the table, offered celebration, and told him to write down this day, July 8th, yesterday, as his own special anniversary, to be celebrated every year. We were honored to be a part of it.

The rest of the day was lazy as hell. I showed B his first PlayGirl magazine, we enjoyed it together. Then, thanks to Eddie, we converted my apartment into Barbarella�s Beach House, listening to his new Beach Music CD�s, drinking wine, and laying out on the cement pathway in front of my door. It was hilarious. Eddie was only wearing his new purple pilot glasses and some cute little red shorts (his bathing suit). Walking back and forth through the complex and randomly striking poses while laying on the asphalt or the grass, we all had quite a laugh. Continuing on our lazy theme, S and I watched a movie at the end of the night and headed to bed, having accomplished nothing (in the name of laundry, cleaning or other chores and duties) the entire weekend. And we accepted that, knowing that shit will get taken care of during the week. The weekend is for play, and by God, that is what we did.