Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2001-08-08

Downers, Uppers, Downers, SAFE!

There are monkeys driving on the freeways now. What? You don�t believe me? Well, let me tell you this then: this morning, getting on the 163N I noticed something fly out the window of the car in front of me. Thrown, actually, up into the air with almost inhuman strength, a banana peel, spinning and flapping like a broken propeller until it finally hit concrete. Now we all know that no HUMAN would toss a giant banana peel onto the freeway in the middle of traffic. So, had to be a monkey.

There are a lot of things disturbing me recently. Is everyone up on their current events? Do we read or watch CNN on a regular basis? I don�t know why I do it. I�m constantly appalled and horrified by what I learn is going on in the world, in this country. 27 children died this year from heatstroke because their parents left them in a car on a hot day. TWENTY FUCKING SEVEN. One, a 3-year-old, left in the car on a Sunday while his parents went to Church. Neglect can be murder. Today it was discovered that a teenage couple in India has been hanged by their own families. In love, they eloped together, despite the protests from their village and parents who were against inter-caste relationships. They were discovered at their rendezvous, dragged to the top of a building, and HANGED. For loving each other despite their differing classes in society.

Disturbed, I�m disturbed about these things. That chick who killed her 5 children is pleading insanity. No fucking shit, you think she�s crazy? God, people, you HAVE to be crazy to coldly murder your own baby children. What does it say of her if she�s not? Crazy is not having that switch in your head that tells you �Don�t kill your child.� So we should be lenient on all of those people who kill because poor them, they�re crazy? Oh no, oh no, I�m not even going to get into that. Into violence and the fact that I�m all for capital punishment. Don�t want to go opening up THAT can of worms right now. I�ll save it for a time when I have more energy to listen to more views on the subject. Because right now, there�s only room in my head for my own view. Ha. Get it? Room with a view? Play on words, hon.

On to happier things, I�m so sorry about the morning wake-up downer of the world report! Obviously, I needed to vent a little bit about psycho people and why they shouldn�t live. Whew! In local news, I�ve been having somewhat of a family week so far. Last night made me smile. Sitting between my pregnant sister and my father, watching her husband (my brother by law and love) and our little sister play indoor soccer, oh I was so content. Making innuendos and snide remarks about my father�s impending senility until he said �Shut the fuck up,� in a falsely menacing tone. Saying the word, �fuck�, and then immediately putting my face to Heather�s belly to apologize for my loose tongue, don�t want to curse in front of the baby.

We were the only people in the bleachers, force of three, cheering and jumping and calling out orders to the players (we know what we�re talking about, really). It was fun. My dad was beaming. Heather was smiling that loving, unconditional, all-accepting and all-understanding smile that you see on the faces of content monks and proud mothers. I was surrounded by love and it felt fucking great. After the game, I just went home and hung with Jen, talking and sharing until we both went to bed. And I slept like the baby in Heather�s belly.

Now I�ve got all this work shit to deal with. So much, so much. But not everything can be easy all at the same time, can it. If it was, we�d just complain about how �unchallenged� we are in life. Catch-22, baby, but this time around, I�m wearing a catching mit on one hand and freeing up my other hand to toss that freakin� ball. Wow, look at that! A baseball metaphor from ME! See? Anything is possible.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Downers, Uppers, Downers, SAFE! 2001-08-08 9:24 a.m. There are monkeys driving on the freeways now. What? You don�t believe me? Well, let me tell you this then: this morning, getting on the 163N I noticed something fly out the window of the car in front of me. Thrown, actually, up into the air with almost inhuman strength, a banana peel, spinning and flapping like a broken propeller until it finally hit concrete. Now we all know that no HUMAN would toss a giant banana peel onto the freeway in the middle of traffic. So, had to be a monkey.

There are a lot of things disturbing me recently. Is everyone up on their current events? Do we read or watch CNN on a regular basis? I don�t know why I do it. I�m constantly appalled and horrified by what I learn is going on in the world, in this country. 27 children died this year from heatstroke because their parents left them in a car on a hot day. TWENTY FUCKING SEVEN. One, a 3-year-old, left in the car on a Sunday while his parents went to Church. Neglect can be murder. Today it was discovered that a teenage couple in India has been hanged by their own families. In love, they eloped together, despite the protests from their village and parents who were against inter-caste relationships. They were discovered at their rendezvous, dragged to the top of a building, and HANGED. For loving each other despite their differing classes in society.

Disturbed, I�m disturbed about these things. That chick who killed her 5 children is pleading insanity. No fucking shit, you think she�s crazy? God, people, you HAVE to be crazy to coldly murder your own baby children. What does it say of her if she�s not? Crazy is not having that switch in your head that tells you �Don�t kill your child.� So we should be lenient on all of those people who kill because poor them, they�re crazy? Oh no, oh no, I�m not even going to get into that. Into violence and the fact that I�m all for capital punishment. Don�t want to go opening up THAT can of worms right now. I�ll save it for a time when I have more energy to listen to more views on the subject. Because right now, there�s only room in my head for my own view. Ha. Get it? Room with a view? Play on words, hon.

On to happier things, I�m so sorry about the morning wake-up downer of the world report! Obviously, I needed to vent a little bit about psycho people and why they shouldn�t live. Whew! In local news, I�ve been having somewhat of a family week so far. Last night made me smile. Sitting between my pregnant sister and my father, watching her husband (my brother by law and love) and our little sister play indoor soccer, oh I was so content. Making innuendos and snide remarks about my father�s impending senility until he said �Shut the fuck up,� in a falsely menacing tone. Saying the word, �fuck�, and then immediately putting my face to Heather�s belly to apologize for my loose tongue, don�t want to curse in front of the baby.

We were the only people in the bleachers, force of three, cheering and jumping and calling out orders to the players (we know what we�re talking about, really). It was fun. My dad was beaming. Heather was smiling that loving, unconditional, all-accepting and all-understanding smile that you see on the faces of content monks and proud mothers. I was surrounded by love and it felt fucking great. After the game, I just went home and hung with Jen, talking and sharing until we both went to bed. And I slept like the baby in Heather�s belly.

Now I�ve got all this work shit to deal with. So much, so much. But not everything can be easy all at the same time, can it. If it was, we�d just complain about how �unchallenged� we are in life. Catch-22, baby, but this time around, I�m wearing a catching mit on one hand and freeing up my other hand to toss that freakin� ball. Wow, look at that! A baseball metaphor from ME! See? Anything is possible.