Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2002-01-15

Baby! Life! Smelly People!

I TOLD you I'd be getting to a computer today. Sometimes, I'm just so right-on it kills me. Anyway, had a lovely lunch with Halcyon yesterday, then headed back to the hospital to stare at my nephew for a good six hours. Who knew time could fly that fast? I'm sure that's how the first 15 years of his life will seem as well. Only time will tell.

I headed out of the hospital and over to Zim's, to do some shopping and browsing in Borders, my favorite bookstore and coffee shop combo. How frustrating, to walk along those isles, to see all of those highly priced items, the books galore, and not be a millionare. Sigh, woe is me. I did pick up that waterproof erotica book, though. I can't wait to take a nice, long bath and read away. How, uh, relaxing it sounds.

Today, up in San Marcos, as I find myself, yet again, staring at my nephew. Sean and Heather are the epitome of tired-newborn parents. They look so exhausted it's somehow pathetic, adorable, and hilarious, all at the same time. By the way, some of you were wondering what I mean when I say the little tyke has my ears? Well, not just mine. All four of us girls, my sisters and I, have the same ears. The top little flap is folded over and flattened. Hard to picture, maybe, but very easy to identify once you've seen it. There's no question about it, he's got our ears.

It's gonna take a few years to see if he also has our crooked pinkies. All of us, yes, each and every one, have crooked pinkies. Must be hereditary, eh?

On a much more selfish note, a new baby in the family is just the kind of perfect excuse to shed some superfluous crap in my life. Who could argue with that? "I'm sorry, I don't have time or energy to deal with you and that situation, I've got more IMPORTANT things, like a new baby in the family, to focus my energy on." I'm just gonna use that one across the board for all the shit that's been getting on my nerves, pre-baby.

I will tell you one thing, though. Most situations are fun for me, I love giving advice, helping people out. It's those who continuously dig holes in front of them, take a running leap, and then wonder how they could have possibly fallen in that piss me off. People who shit all over themselves and around them and complain about the smell in the air.

It is to those people, in those situations, that I will gleefully remind of my family's new gift and the fact that I'm not thinking of much else right now. Hee hee. I can already feel the cool freshness of new air on my face. Almost as if a new purpose and power has been revealed to me, along with the knowledge of how to weild it. The power? Choice and priorities. I'm sticking to my own from now on, rather than getting frustrated and involved in everyone else's. Seems so simple, but I'll remind you, wasn't it difficult and frustrating to learn how to ride a bike before something just "clicked" and everything made sense and just worked together for the first time?

That's kind of how I feel.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Baby! Life! Smelly People! 2002-01-15 5:49 p.m. I TOLD you I'd be getting to a computer today. Sometimes, I'm just so right-on it kills me. Anyway, had a lovely lunch with Halcyon yesterday, then headed back to the hospital to stare at my nephew for a good six hours. Who knew time could fly that fast? I'm sure that's how the first 15 years of his life will seem as well. Only time will tell.

I headed out of the hospital and over to Zim's, to do some shopping and browsing in Borders, my favorite bookstore and coffee shop combo. How frustrating, to walk along those isles, to see all of those highly priced items, the books galore, and not be a millionare. Sigh, woe is me. I did pick up that waterproof erotica book, though. I can't wait to take a nice, long bath and read away. How, uh, relaxing it sounds.

Today, up in San Marcos, as I find myself, yet again, staring at my nephew. Sean and Heather are the epitome of tired-newborn parents. They look so exhausted it's somehow pathetic, adorable, and hilarious, all at the same time. By the way, some of you were wondering what I mean when I say the little tyke has my ears? Well, not just mine. All four of us girls, my sisters and I, have the same ears. The top little flap is folded over and flattened. Hard to picture, maybe, but very easy to identify once you've seen it. There's no question about it, he's got our ears.

It's gonna take a few years to see if he also has our crooked pinkies. All of us, yes, each and every one, have crooked pinkies. Must be hereditary, eh?

On a much more selfish note, a new baby in the family is just the kind of perfect excuse to shed some superfluous crap in my life. Who could argue with that? "I'm sorry, I don't have time or energy to deal with you and that situation, I've got more IMPORTANT things, like a new baby in the family, to focus my energy on." I'm just gonna use that one across the board for all the shit that's been getting on my nerves, pre-baby.

I will tell you one thing, though. Most situations are fun for me, I love giving advice, helping people out. It's those who continuously dig holes in front of them, take a running leap, and then wonder how they could have possibly fallen in that piss me off. People who shit all over themselves and around them and complain about the smell in the air.

It is to those people, in those situations, that I will gleefully remind of my family's new gift and the fact that I'm not thinking of much else right now. Hee hee. I can already feel the cool freshness of new air on my face. Almost as if a new purpose and power has been revealed to me, along with the knowledge of how to weild it. The power? Choice and priorities. I'm sticking to my own from now on, rather than getting frustrated and involved in everyone else's. Seems so simple, but I'll remind you, wasn't it difficult and frustrating to learn how to ride a bike before something just "clicked" and everything made sense and just worked together for the first time?

That's kind of how I feel.