Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2002-03-18

My Mostly Irish Family

I may have to change this cd soon, I don�t think I can be very effective with Les Miserables blaring from my monitor. These people here do NOT need to see me act out every scene, and I don�t think I can mumble the words under my breath without dramatically animating my face to reflect each appropriate emotion being sung. Hmm. We�ll see how it goes. I�m sure I have some semblance of will power, it�s just tapping into it that takes a bit of effort.

St. Patrick�s Day!!! That�s right, everyone, being mostly Irish (okay, half, but the other half is split Italian/Greek, so I think I�m still accurate with �mostly�), this was a day to celebrate. My father returned home this weekend, right in time for his holiday. Surprisingly (if you�re the type to follow stereotypes), my father was never much of a drinker. Growing up, I didn�t even know about alcohol. In high school, it was easy to party with friends using the leftover liquor from our annual Christmas Party. Being touched only once a year, they never noticed it diminishing. Lucky us, eh? But seriously, my parents were GOOD parents. They took their collective, shitty experiences and pulled all the love and lessons they could from them, and applied those lessons with us. I�m very lucky. Blessed. Whatever the word is, whatever the source behind it, thank you.

To push the sentimental envelope a bit, after going to Church with Dad and seeing the amazing and profoundly hilarious Jacob speak (how refreshing!), we went to breakfast, bought flowers at the Farmers Market, and then headed home, and I put on the video. 1983, Grandpa�s birthday. My father�s parents, both gone from this world now, were smiling back at us from the television. Jeffrey, who�s probably with them now, wherever they are, a giggling, laughing kid. My sisters and I little girls running around the dinner table, and Grandpa�s Irish-New Yorker description of the gathering as �Beeeyooteeful�. My father was as engrossed as I was when I first saw it with Jen the other day. We have 4 more videos to go through, and I can�t wait. It still amazes me that we have the ability to capture our images in these ways. Precious.

After some video-watching, we headed up to Heather�s to spend the rest of the day with the family, laughing and vying for the baby�s attention. He just learned to smile, you know. How beautiful that is too see. His mother and 3 aunts stuck him in his crib, turned on the musical mobile, and stood back quietly, watching for his reaction. I can�t tell you how long we were there, just watching him stare at that thing. Waiting for a smile. Now THIS kid is lucky. He came into this world wanted and loved. Wonderful parents, three psychotically doting aunts, and the first grandchild on both sides. Oh shit, he�s going to be spoiled.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
My Mostly Irish Family 2002-03-18 9:10 a.m. I may have to change this cd soon, I don�t think I can be very effective with Les Miserables blaring from my monitor. These people here do NOT need to see me act out every scene, and I don�t think I can mumble the words under my breath without dramatically animating my face to reflect each appropriate emotion being sung. Hmm. We�ll see how it goes. I�m sure I have some semblance of will power, it�s just tapping into it that takes a bit of effort.

St. Patrick�s Day!!! That�s right, everyone, being mostly Irish (okay, half, but the other half is split Italian/Greek, so I think I�m still accurate with �mostly�), this was a day to celebrate. My father returned home this weekend, right in time for his holiday. Surprisingly (if you�re the type to follow stereotypes), my father was never much of a drinker. Growing up, I didn�t even know about alcohol. In high school, it was easy to party with friends using the leftover liquor from our annual Christmas Party. Being touched only once a year, they never noticed it diminishing. Lucky us, eh? But seriously, my parents were GOOD parents. They took their collective, shitty experiences and pulled all the love and lessons they could from them, and applied those lessons with us. I�m very lucky. Blessed. Whatever the word is, whatever the source behind it, thank you.

To push the sentimental envelope a bit, after going to Church with Dad and seeing the amazing and profoundly hilarious Jacob speak (how refreshing!), we went to breakfast, bought flowers at the Farmers Market, and then headed home, and I put on the video. 1983, Grandpa�s birthday. My father�s parents, both gone from this world now, were smiling back at us from the television. Jeffrey, who�s probably with them now, wherever they are, a giggling, laughing kid. My sisters and I little girls running around the dinner table, and Grandpa�s Irish-New Yorker description of the gathering as �Beeeyooteeful�. My father was as engrossed as I was when I first saw it with Jen the other day. We have 4 more videos to go through, and I can�t wait. It still amazes me that we have the ability to capture our images in these ways. Precious.

After some video-watching, we headed up to Heather�s to spend the rest of the day with the family, laughing and vying for the baby�s attention. He just learned to smile, you know. How beautiful that is too see. His mother and 3 aunts stuck him in his crib, turned on the musical mobile, and stood back quietly, watching for his reaction. I can�t tell you how long we were there, just watching him stare at that thing. Waiting for a smile. Now THIS kid is lucky. He came into this world wanted and loved. Wonderful parents, three psychotically doting aunts, and the first grandchild on both sides. Oh shit, he�s going to be spoiled.