Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2002-05-13

Raw Thought and an Update

You know what I�m missing from my life? Wait, I take that back. I�m not �missing� anything . Let me rephrase for clarity: you know what I�d really like right now in my life? A little bit of romance, is all. Life in general is complete, happy, fulfilling, and rewarding. But I listen to my dreams, and according to the line-up last night, I�m hankering for some romance. I don�t mean sex, that�s too easy. I don�t mean empty flirtation, fun as it is, it�s becoming a tad bit tedious and pointless.

I mean romance. The emetic, silly and unrealistic historical harlequin bullshit come to life. I want what I had with Samy, only real. Here�s to the dragons in our lives, entering our world, breathing fire, and disappearing without a trace. I want someone who inspires me to write about him, as I did about Samy. Someone to direct some light at me for a change. I want to glow, basking in genuine affection. That�s all.

So there�s my morning thought, now for an update on my wonderful and fulfilling weekend (in just about every way, save this whole silly �romance� notion). Friday night was relaxing and refreshing. Babysitting my sister�s niece and nephew, making an entire Friday night out of it. Beautiful, educated and very loved children, it gave me hope in parenting and youth that before Friday night, was almost completely diminished. Just imagine a cherubic 5-year-old preferring to read than watch TV, then saying matter-of-factly, �I�m not sure if it�s a school night, and seeing as I have a difficult time waking up if I don�t get enough sleep, please tell me when it�s 9 o�clock so I can make sure I get to bed.� C�mon, people. Too much. It also helped that both children are worthy of Bougereau�s brush (my favorite artist, by the way).

Saturday was full. Early morning breakfast made delicious by Kitty, and then a walk over to the park. I met up with Bunny and a baby, saw the boys playing Ultimate Frisbee, sat in the sun for awhile (hence my ruined neck and shoulders, should have thought about sunscreen), and then took off alone into the park. I watched some performers, caught �Bears� at the IMAX , walked around for another hour or so and then met up with my sisters and mother for a late lunch. Wonderful!

Saturday night, trying to fit a million things into one evening, and I do believe I succeeded. Art show downtown, birthday party, on the phone just in time to hear the going-away party�s guest of honor give his speech to a crowd at Rich�s , then down to the Casbah to catch the Dragons. Whew! Fun as fuck, I tell ya. And finally, before your eyes go cross from reading so much, yesterday was absolutely perfect. Mother�s Day, family day, and both Faye and I accomplished a new trick we�ve been trying forever with that damn hackey sack. Oh, yeah.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Raw Thought and an Update 2002-05-13 9:36 a.m. You know what I�m missing from my life? Wait, I take that back. I�m not �missing� anything . Let me rephrase for clarity: you know what I�d really like right now in my life? A little bit of romance, is all. Life in general is complete, happy, fulfilling, and rewarding. But I listen to my dreams, and according to the line-up last night, I�m hankering for some romance. I don�t mean sex, that�s too easy. I don�t mean empty flirtation, fun as it is, it�s becoming a tad bit tedious and pointless.

I mean romance. The emetic, silly and unrealistic historical harlequin bullshit come to life. I want what I had with Samy, only real. Here�s to the dragons in our lives, entering our world, breathing fire, and disappearing without a trace. I want someone who inspires me to write about him, as I did about Samy. Someone to direct some light at me for a change. I want to glow, basking in genuine affection. That�s all.

So there�s my morning thought, now for an update on my wonderful and fulfilling weekend (in just about every way, save this whole silly �romance� notion). Friday night was relaxing and refreshing. Babysitting my sister�s niece and nephew, making an entire Friday night out of it. Beautiful, educated and very loved children, it gave me hope in parenting and youth that before Friday night, was almost completely diminished. Just imagine a cherubic 5-year-old preferring to read than watch TV, then saying matter-of-factly, �I�m not sure if it�s a school night, and seeing as I have a difficult time waking up if I don�t get enough sleep, please tell me when it�s 9 o�clock so I can make sure I get to bed.� C�mon, people. Too much. It also helped that both children are worthy of Bougereau�s brush (my favorite artist, by the way).

Saturday was full. Early morning breakfast made delicious by Kitty, and then a walk over to the park. I met up with Bunny and a baby, saw the boys playing Ultimate Frisbee, sat in the sun for awhile (hence my ruined neck and shoulders, should have thought about sunscreen), and then took off alone into the park. I watched some performers, caught �Bears� at the IMAX , walked around for another hour or so and then met up with my sisters and mother for a late lunch. Wonderful!

Saturday night, trying to fit a million things into one evening, and I do believe I succeeded. Art show downtown, birthday party, on the phone just in time to hear the going-away party�s guest of honor give his speech to a crowd at Rich�s , then down to the Casbah to catch the Dragons. Whew! Fun as fuck, I tell ya. And finally, before your eyes go cross from reading so much, yesterday was absolutely perfect. Mother�s Day, family day, and both Faye and I accomplished a new trick we�ve been trying forever with that damn hackey sack. Oh, yeah.