Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2002-07-03

Up in Heah', Up in Heah'!

The inscription in a beautiful card I received from Kitty yesterday read, �From this hour I ordain myself loos�d of limits and imaginary lines.� � Walt Whitman

I wonder if she realizes just how relevant that is to me right now. It captures the same idea that�s been stuck here in my noggin� for the last few days. Gotta love synchronicity. Okay, what do we have here? Yesterday, after pilates , and after a day of too much coffee and too little water, I needed to go do something, go GET something. I have these impulse-buy feelings, call it a disorder, if you will.

But, I�ve also been in a very creative mood. So I cleaned out the art section of Staples and immediately went home to sketch with my new charcoals, pencils, paper, erasers, you name it. I used to be very into my art, sketching, painting, drawing, call it what you will. Then, I just stopped. No reason in particular. But I looked back through my old books, old works, and you know, it�s not half-bad. I�d go as far as to say that I enjoyed looking at most of it, though for the pieces I really liked, it was hard to believe that I did them. I wondered if I could ever duplicate the quality and skill that I had at one time in my life, if I could ever expand on it.

We�ll see. If not, then I�m still having fun, I always did love to color. I�ve been writing much more lately, going right along with this creative spurt. I haven�t attempted any poems yet, been awhile since I�ve written poetry. Carl Sandburg once said, �Ordering a man to write a poem is like commanding a pregnant woman to give birth to a red-headed child.� Brilliant.

Goin� out tonight, tomorrow is the 4th, Friday I have off (most likely spend the day between the zoo and the San Diego Museum of Art � Renoir�s in town), Saturday a potluck, then a big party in LA, visiting Liz up there and celebrating Comedian�s birthday. After nearly a week of pleasantly being with myself, I�m able and willing to interact with others again. Sigh, I do so love my �me� time. But a four day weekend? Let�s get this party started.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Up in Heah', Up in Heah'! 2002-07-03 10:10 a.m. The inscription in a beautiful card I received from Kitty yesterday read, �From this hour I ordain myself loos�d of limits and imaginary lines.� � Walt Whitman

I wonder if she realizes just how relevant that is to me right now. It captures the same idea that�s been stuck here in my noggin� for the last few days. Gotta love synchronicity. Okay, what do we have here? Yesterday, after pilates , and after a day of too much coffee and too little water, I needed to go do something, go GET something. I have these impulse-buy feelings, call it a disorder, if you will.

But, I�ve also been in a very creative mood. So I cleaned out the art section of Staples and immediately went home to sketch with my new charcoals, pencils, paper, erasers, you name it. I used to be very into my art, sketching, painting, drawing, call it what you will. Then, I just stopped. No reason in particular. But I looked back through my old books, old works, and you know, it�s not half-bad. I�d go as far as to say that I enjoyed looking at most of it, though for the pieces I really liked, it was hard to believe that I did them. I wondered if I could ever duplicate the quality and skill that I had at one time in my life, if I could ever expand on it.

We�ll see. If not, then I�m still having fun, I always did love to color. I�ve been writing much more lately, going right along with this creative spurt. I haven�t attempted any poems yet, been awhile since I�ve written poetry. Carl Sandburg once said, �Ordering a man to write a poem is like commanding a pregnant woman to give birth to a red-headed child.� Brilliant.

Goin� out tonight, tomorrow is the 4th, Friday I have off (most likely spend the day between the zoo and the San Diego Museum of Art � Renoir�s in town), Saturday a potluck, then a big party in LA, visiting Liz up there and celebrating Comedian�s birthday. After nearly a week of pleasantly being with myself, I�m able and willing to interact with others again. Sigh, I do so love my �me� time. But a four day weekend? Let�s get this party started.