Stories My Blog Photos Links About me

2002-09-25

Fabulous, Fabulous Friends

�You can discover more about a person in an hour of play than in a year of discussion.� � Plato. I can�t tell you how many times I�ve been hanging with someone, getting to know them, really �clicking�, sharing ideas and thoughts and philosophies� but then, in a social situation, our definitions of a "good time" were polar opposites. Play is important, as it reveals just how truly uptight and close-minded a person can be, regardless of what they�ve said to you in the past. Just a thought.

All that quote really does is reaffirm the beautiful perfection of my friendships. Last night, I was reminded in a BIG way just how wonderful, amazing, beautiful and talented all of my friends are. I�ve �played� with all of them, and the more I discover, the more in love I am with each of them. Last night, I went to sleep smiling into my pillow.

My evening started right after work, when I bombarded Foferi, fresh out of the shower, and demanded to hang out. We went to dinner and then over to a friend�s house for a Burning Man Slide Show & Video party. Friends flowed steadily in the door all night, special drinks and food were being prepared, and others pot-lucked dishes in. Amazing photographs were mounted on the walls of Playa art pieces, friends in costumes, sunsets and scenery, all Burning Man, all Beautiful.

Then, the slide show. Pictures of friends, creatively taken, professional quality (because the man is SO good at getting the shot), we cheered, we commented, we laughed. About an hour into the show, I came very close to becoming ironically irritable, as my face was starting to ache from the hard, fixed smile upon it. I have two photos hung in my office right now, bright, colorful, hilarious. One of Blove laughing, a close-up of his face, with little red rubber devil duckies on his shoulders. Another, of Kaya and his Lovely, dressed like superheroes and staring off into the horizon in a most ridiculously serious fashion. Every time I look up from either desk (depending on whether I�m facing computer or paperwork), I see one of them and smile. Fabulous.

My friends are fabulous. I�m so happy to be a part of it all, because I feel like I�m getting so much more out of life than I would if I didn�t know and love these people. And, well� that�s just such a GOOD feeling. So enough of my sappy-pants (perhaps that wasn�t the best choice of words, but you get me)�

A lot of fun things coming up. Bluetech plays in Mexico this weekend, but I decided I�m not comfortable with leaving the country right now, at least not with my car, to drive it into Mexico. Sick & Twisted Festival of Animation in La Jolla, a friend�s art gallery opening downtown, among other things for this weekend. I think I�m going to go to L.A. in a few weeks, visit my freaks up there. I keep seeing the boys in their various commercials, and can�t help but miss them. Soon enough. Soon enough. There are just too many wonderful and fun people around to squeeze them all in at the same time (get your mind out of the gutter, and yes, I have seen that movie).

I've got work to do.

-Barbarella

previous | next

2007-05-19
NEW SITE!!!!

2007-05-16
Links and Update

2007-05-09
Two Links

2007-05-06
Yes, Even MORE new pictures

2007-05-06
Mizz Asshole

Copyright � 2004 divabarbarella.com All Rights Reserved about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!


San Diego Bloggers

Subscribe to BarbarellasBookClub
Powered by groups.yahoo.com
Fabulous, Fabulous Friends 2002-09-25 10:05 a.m. �You can discover more about a person in an hour of play than in a year of discussion.� � Plato. I can�t tell you how many times I�ve been hanging with someone, getting to know them, really �clicking�, sharing ideas and thoughts and philosophies� but then, in a social situation, our definitions of a "good time" were polar opposites. Play is important, as it reveals just how truly uptight and close-minded a person can be, regardless of what they�ve said to you in the past. Just a thought.

All that quote really does is reaffirm the beautiful perfection of my friendships. Last night, I was reminded in a BIG way just how wonderful, amazing, beautiful and talented all of my friends are. I�ve �played� with all of them, and the more I discover, the more in love I am with each of them. Last night, I went to sleep smiling into my pillow.

My evening started right after work, when I bombarded Foferi, fresh out of the shower, and demanded to hang out. We went to dinner and then over to a friend�s house for a Burning Man Slide Show & Video party. Friends flowed steadily in the door all night, special drinks and food were being prepared, and others pot-lucked dishes in. Amazing photographs were mounted on the walls of Playa art pieces, friends in costumes, sunsets and scenery, all Burning Man, all Beautiful.

Then, the slide show. Pictures of friends, creatively taken, professional quality (because the man is SO good at getting the shot), we cheered, we commented, we laughed. About an hour into the show, I came very close to becoming ironically irritable, as my face was starting to ache from the hard, fixed smile upon it. I have two photos hung in my office right now, bright, colorful, hilarious. One of Blove laughing, a close-up of his face, with little red rubber devil duckies on his shoulders. Another, of Kaya and his Lovely, dressed like superheroes and staring off into the horizon in a most ridiculously serious fashion. Every time I look up from either desk (depending on whether I�m facing computer or paperwork), I see one of them and smile. Fabulous.

My friends are fabulous. I�m so happy to be a part of it all, because I feel like I�m getting so much more out of life than I would if I didn�t know and love these people. And, well� that�s just such a GOOD feeling. So enough of my sappy-pants (perhaps that wasn�t the best choice of words, but you get me)�

A lot of fun things coming up. Bluetech plays in Mexico this weekend, but I decided I�m not comfortable with leaving the country right now, at least not with my car, to drive it into Mexico. Sick & Twisted Festival of Animation in La Jolla, a friend�s art gallery opening downtown, among other things for this weekend. I think I�m going to go to L.A. in a few weeks, visit my freaks up there. I keep seeing the boys in their various commercials, and can�t help but miss them. Soon enough. Soon enough. There are just too many wonderful and fun people around to squeeze them all in at the same time (get your mind out of the gutter, and yes, I have seen that movie).

I've got work to do.